The state of Hawai'i is located in the Pacific Ocean and is made up of 137 volcanic islands. The major ones are Niʻihau, Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi, Kahoʻolawe, Maui, and Hawaiʻi Island. 

Did You Know?

Because Hawai'i is geographically so far from other regions of the world, the plant species that evolved there are highly endemic, which means they only exist in this region.

Did You Know?

Hawai'i has over 1,300 species of endemic plants. Endemic means these plants only exist in this region.

Did You Know?

The state flower of Hawai'i is the yellow hibiscus, also called maʻo hau hele.

Did You Know?

Hawai'i is over 2,000 miles west of the state of California.
Hero Aponi

Learn and Read

Stay and Play

Hawai'i: Erik Cooper, Flickr.

Sign up for
our newsletter

Sign me up!
The Plant Heroes Team will send you important and helpful newsletters to your email